Skip to content

Journal assignment

R.E.I. Parking Lot

R.E.I. Parking Lot

It looks like my blog posts may become more regular as now they are actual journal assignments for school. This will be very different for me because I’ve never self-assigned a journal and this one will go public. Alright! Let’s get on this.

This week’s image is shown above. I’m not sure how I feel about it at this point. I’ve been studying about Hans Hoffman’s theories about the visual arts and a lot of it revolves around his push/pull or plasticity in art. This plasticity animates the surface. In the image above, the pink of the pocketbook and the green of the lawn speak to each other. The trees in each image talk to each other, and the parking lines do as well as the curb. But is that enough? Structurally it may work. But shouldn’t there be more? A spiritual nature? Something more emotive and vital? I’m beginning to think so…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

