Skip to content

Natchitoches, Louisiana

Image

It’s sweet to be back in the lush south and out of the bizarre, barren state that is Texas. On my first drive east in 2002, I stopped here in Natchitoches because I had read Kate Chopin’s The Awakening and wanted to see where she had lived. The little town charmed me. It’s less touristy than Charleston and the river is just so pretty. There is the expected urban sprawl and strip malls a mile out on either side but that’s okay. I’m in de Nile right now. Chillin. I have a long challenge ahead of me in Charleston so I figure it’s okay.

Tomorrow is Easter, my favorite time in Charleston. The shops and restaurants will be closed here so I’m going out to Oakland Plantation. It’s a National Historical Park now with a beautiful main house but, more importantly, 27 out buildings, or slave quarters, kitchens, etc. A building called The African House is architecturally significant internationally. And yes, I’ll take photos.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

