Skip to content

Santa Fe

Image

The drive from Moab to Santa Fe was beautiful for the most part. There were arches in the distance and lots of multi-colored sandstone mountains beside the road. It even traveled through a smaller version of Monument Valley. Not much traffic and 75mph limits made quick work of the day.

When I arrived in Santa Fe, I found my little adobe home just 5 minutes from the Governor’s Palace downtown. I have my own bedroom, bathroom, sitting area and outdoor terrace for $65/nt! Thank you, airbnb. That’s the view into the dining room and kitchen. My room is to the right. And that’s Riley in the window.

Today I explored the neighborhood. I started out with breakfast at The Tearoom (bad service, so-so food), where I met Minda.

MindaMinda is on her way to NYC to study decorative arts (I hope that’s right, Minda!) and we had a wonderful conversation about many topics. She is perfectly lovely and was a joy to share breakfast with. I wish her all the luck in transitioning from Colorado to New York 🙂 Oh, btw, Josie, her dad got his Master’s at St. John’s. So I drove by the college today. Turns out it shares the grounds with the Santa Fe Photographic Workshops schoolrooms. Their photo journey to Cuba is on my bucket list.

I wandered Canyon Road where there are a ton of art galleries and found this little place tucked in there.friends

My mom was a Quaker and grew up going to the Friends’ Meetinghouses in Pennsylvania. I thought she might like a print of this once I get settled.

It’s been so much fun to talk with folks on this trip. I hope this continues as I head southward. Tomorrow is another day in Santa Fe and then I take off for Texas and Louisiana.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

